Festival year 2013

The 2013 edition of Pori Jazz took place in an unusually chilly weather. All but one of the main event dates were characterised by constant rainfall, and the average temperature for the week remained some ten degrees Celsius below the usual. The highlight of the festival was the July 20 concert at Kirjurinluoto starring the legendary US group Earth, Wind & Fire. The Kirjurinluoto Arena was dotted by a multicoloured ocean of people in raincoats, but the feeling at the venue seemed to grow only more intense due to the less-than-perfect weather conditions. The concert drew a crowd of 19,000 visitors, making it the most popular at the year’s festival.

In total, the Pori Jazz 2013 concerts attracted close to 50,000 visitors. This means that the event reached its goal in terms of number of visitors with the projected ticket sales of 48,000. Prior to the event, some representatives of the media were critical of the lineup not including a superstar act to draw in the big crowds but at the end of the day, the consistency and the high overall quality of the 2013 program proved to work well for the Pori Jazz loyal. The festival can justly be considered also an artistic success, judging by the positive feedback received by the billed artists across the media.

The festival preparations took an unfortunate turn during the fall of 2012 as the American trumpet player and Pori Jazz legend Ted Curson passed away at 77. Having performed at Pori Jazz each year prior to his death, Curson was the single most influential musician in the festival’s history. Two memorial concerts were organised at Pori jazz 2013.

The first artist announcement for 2013 was released well before Christmas, as the legendary Finnish singer Vesa-Matti Loiri & Loiri All Stars was announced as the headline act of the final concert at Pori Jazz 2013. In addition to Loiri and Earth, Wind & Fire, the 2013 lineup was brimming with legends such as Steve Winwood, Bonnie Raitt, Bobby Womack and Eric Burdon.

The full Pori Jazz lineup for the year was released on April 11. During the early summer, the McCoy Tyner Latin All Stars announced the cancellation of their entire European tour so the festival office had to work hard in order to replace the legendary jazz pianist. The Cookers from the US and Level 42 from the UK were soon announced as replacing Tyner in the lineup.

2013 marked the ninth edition of the Pori Jazz Kids event for children. During its five days of operation, the event attracted a crowd of 29,000 visitors. Pianist Artturi Rönkä was awarded as “Artist of the Year 2013” and the Pori Jazz poster was designed by freelance illustrator and graphic designer Satu Ketola.

The year’s festival also marked the first for Juha Miikkulainen, the new Managing Director of Pori Jazz since August 2012. Another major addition to the festival team was announced in May 2013 as Mikkomatti Aro, previously a Producer and a Programming Team member at the festival, was appointed as the new Artistic Director of Pori Jazz.

Vuoden  festivaalijuliste


Adele Sauros
AK Jazz Collection
Amadou & Mariam
Andrea Marcelli Trio (in collaboration with Italian Cultural Institute)
Antti Koivula & The Soultwisters
Antti Sarpila Swing Band
Antti Sarpila Swing band
Artturi Rönkä Quartet
Ashley Khan: Lecture on Ted Curson
Bengt Stark All Stars feat. Dan Johansson & Peter Dahlgren
Berlin Nun
Big Band Goes Heavy feat. Jarkko Ahola
Blue Train
Bobby Womack
Bobo Stenson solo
Bonnie Raitt
Cody ChesnuTT
Conjunto Café with special guest Seppo Tyni
Dave Douglas Quintet with special guest vocalist Heather Masse
DJ Ais-T
DJ Markus-Setä
Earth, Wind & Fire
Eero Koivistoinen Quartet
Eliina Mäkiranta Quartet
Eric Burdon & The Animals
Eva & Manu
Evening Standard
Felsig Quintet
Final Jam Session hosted by Mikko Karjalainen
Flatbroke Trio
Garden Play Along Jam Session with Kalevi Louhivuori
Heidi Viljanen Organic Soul
Henry O. Swing Gang
Hill Street Blues
Hip To Be Band on feat. Inga Söder
Houseband warm-up: Georgios Kontrafouris trio
Houseband warm-up: Joonas Haavisto trio
Iiro Rantala - Lars Danielsson - Wolfgang Haffner Super Trio
Jam Session: Antti Sarpila "Classic Jazz"
Jam Session: Jari Perkiömäki "Altology"
Jam Session: Jukka Eskola "Trumpet Kings"
Jam Session: Jukka Perko "52nd Street Bebop"
Jam Session: Jussi Kannaste "New Standards"
Jam Session: Mirja Mäkelä "Fine and Mellow - Billie Holiday Songbook"
Jam Session: Olli Hirvonen "New York Now"
Jam Session: Sami Linna "Green Street - Music of Grant Green"
Jan Simons Funk All Stars
Jari Perkiömäki Jam Session
Jarno Kukkonen with Friends
Jaws Trio
Jazzanova Live feat. Paul Randolph
John Legend
Jouni Hokkanen Quartet
Jukka Perko Streamline Jazztet
Jukka Syrenius & Rudy Smith Caribbean Shuffle
Jussi Kannaste Jam Session
Kadi Quartet
Kendrick Lamar
Ketola Rewired
Kids Festival: Young Talent Showcase
Kirsti Alho Kaikki Eevasta
Lee Fields & The Expressions
Level 42
Los Dynamos
Maria Hänninen & The Soultwisters
Marjo Leinonen Huff'n'Puff
Mâäk Mopo Spirit
Mâäk Quartet & Mika Kallio
Mia Suszko
Michael Kiwanuka
Mikko Innanen Cédric Piromalli Teppo Hauta-aho Paul Lovens
Nat Newborn 7: NAT PACK - Tribute to Rat Pack
Never Heard
Nina Mya
Nordic Trinity
Norrbotten Big Band with Outi Tarkiainen & Aili Ikonen
Olly Murs
Oulu Young Jazz Orchestra, Nordnorsk Ungdomsstorband
Pascal Niggenkemper Vision 7
Pentti Lasanen Big Swing Orchestra feat. Minna Lasanen
Pope Puolitaival United
Pori Big Band
Pori Big Band feat. Heta Halonen
Pori Jazz Allstars
Raappana & Sound Explosion Band
Reiska Laine Band
Reiska Laine with Friends
Ricky-Tick Big Band & Julkinen Sana
Rita Lovely & The Soultwisters
Royal Garden Jazz Band
Ruudolf & Karri Koira
Sakari Kukko Virret-kvartetti
Samae Koskisen Korvalääke
Sami Linna Quartet
Sami Saari & Soulbeat
Santana Spirit Band
Shoebox Revue
Slavin Eldh Lillinger
Soulbeat feat. Osmo Ikonen & Antti Kleemola
Soulbeat feat. Sami Pitkämö
Speaking Tubes
Stefan Jansson Quartet featuring Johanna Grüssner
Steve Winwood
Taavi Kerikmäe & Eric Echampard
Ted Curson in memoriam
The Cookers
The Fabulous Thunderbirds
The Heavy
The Robert Cray Band
Tim Hagans Quartet
Tommi Taavila Group
Tonight at Noon
Tuomas Juhani Turunen Jam Session
TVO presents: Charterflight
TVO presents: Jazz Rash
TVO presents: Splönge
Uffe Krokfors Quartet
Valtakunnallinen Popjazzleiri
Vesa-Matti Loiri & Loiri All Stars
Vitali Imereli & Enrico Granafei with Friends
Önder Focan