Festival year 2019

Almost a perfect festival – one might describe Pori Jazz 2019 as such. Two of the main concerts at the Kirjurinluoto Concert Park were sold out as 27 000 people attended the festival both on Friday and Saturday. The main concert on Thursday attracted some 15 000 people. The total amount of 69 000 people attending the main concerts was also a new record for the three main concerts. Last time a main concert was sold out 11 years ago.

In 2019 the venue capacity was set to 27 000 in order to ensure high quality services. This proved out to be a good decision as major congestions were avoided throughout the entire venue in spite of the record-breaking audience. The artists performing at the festival included among others Toto, Christina Aguilera, Stray Cats, Melody Gardot, Snarky Puppy, Archie Shepp and Ron Carter. The Ted Curson Award went to saxophonist Lisa Fredriksson and drummer Okko Saastamoinen was awarded as the rising talent.

When the main concert audience and admission free festival area attendance at the Jazz Park were counted together the total admission number for the festival is 349 518. With this staggering amount Pori Jazz was the largest festival in Finland in summer 2019.

Vuoden  festivaalijuliste


Aapo Heinonen Quintet
Alder Ego
Aleksi Heinola Quintet
Alexi Tuomarila Trio feat. Kalevi Louhivuori
Alfa Mist
Angélique Kidjo: Remain in Light
Anssi Kela
Archie Shepp Quartet
Bad Ass Brass Band
Betty Wright
Christina Aguilera
Final Jam Session
Folktinget presenterar: Jan Simons Band feat. Jennie Storbacka & Elna Romberg
Folktinget presenterar: Sanna Ruohoniemi
Foreign Friends
Four Generations feat. Marian Petrescu
Hot Heros
Ibibio Sound Machine
Idris Ackamoor and the Pyramids
Ina Forsman
J. Karjalainen
Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha
JD McPherson
Kingston Wall by JJylli, Kuoppis & VHB
Kirjuri All Stars + Inga Söder
Kirjuri All Stars + Jussu Pöyhönen
Kirjuri All Stars + Osmo Ikonen
Kirjuri All Stars + Taru Ratilainen
L'Alliance Takalo
Lean On Me: José James Celebrates Bill Withers
Linda May Han Oh
Louis Cole Big Band
MA Rouf
Mama Longhorn
Manuel Dunkel Quartet
Mariana Zwarg Sexteto Universal
Marzi Nyman: Kelluva katedraali
Max Zenger Globus
Melody Gardot
Midnight Jam Session Band
Mopo on the Moon
Nubya Garcia
Pekko Käppi & K:H:H:L
Pori Big Band feat. Mikko "Gunu" Karjalainen
Poriljonki Jam Session
Pyhimys & Saimaa
Raoul Björkenheim Triad
Reiska Laine Quintet
Ricky-Tick Big Band & Julkinen Sana
Ron Carter "Foursight" Quartet
Samuli Edelmann & Orkestra Suora Lähetys
Selim P.
Sigurdur Rögnvaldsson's Dark Forest
Sini Yasemin
Snarky Puppy
Sole Azul
Stray Cats
Tank and the Bangas
Timo Lassy & Ricky-Tick Big Band Brass
Tomi Nikku 5tet
Tuomas J. Trio feat. Manuel Dunkel
Valtakunnallisen pop-/jazzleirin showcase-konsertti
Ville Valo & Agents
William Suvanne Chess 'n Jazz
Young Gun Silver Fox