Festival year 2010

Kokemäki river delta was transformed once again into a high tempo meeting point for rhythm music lovers for the 45th Pori Jazz Festival between the 17th-25th of July.

A new team consisting of Tuomas Kallio, Markus Partanen and Teppo Mäkynen were responsible for compiling the festival programme this year. The team brought new emphasis to the festival mix. For example they gave Finnish jazz a more substantial role, buffed up Sunday’s Kirjurinluoto Arena concert as well as gave more distinct profiles to the two biggest evening concerts. These plans proved successful and especially the Otava Factory found its ground and audience in its third year. Also, Kirjurinluoto Arena schedule was put through a test as Saturday’s main performer, Massive Attack wanted to play in as dark of conditions as possible so that their spectacular light show could be seen in all its glory. The concept proved to work and final sounds were heard as late as after 11 pm that night.

Festival programme shone with such glimmering stars as rap legend Gil Scott-Heron, soul and funk bands Mayer Hawthorne & The County as well as Sharon Jones &The Dap-Kings who proved to be in top form. Biggest jazz names included Melody Gardot, Tomasz Stanko Quintet, José James and Lee Konitz, featured pop/rock legends were Toto, John Fogerty, Jeff Beck and singer/songwriter Tori Amos as well as hip hop producer N.E.R.D. There were altogether 129 performing groups. Programme included mostly jazz; two thirds of all music was classed as jazz.

Jazz Street is a festival feature that is under continuous efforts of improvement. In the summer of 2010 the street was brought up to date with jazzed up food and product offering with special effort given to visual aspects of the street. Pori Jazz outsourced the sale of merchandise to a new partner, Innoflame, who revived the concept successfully. Also the already established group of partners saw some new additions after a couple of more difficult years of sponsoring.

Ticket sales exceeded expectations slightly. There were in total 155 000 visitors to the festival of which 95 000 took part in free of charge events and 60 000 were paying concert goers. All in all there were 116 concerts, of which nearly 70% (80 concerts) were free of charge and the rest 36 you needed to buy tickets for. Concerts were held at 12 recognisable locations from Kirjurinluoto Arena, LP45!, Otava Factory, Pori Theatre, Ultra Music Nights, Klubi-Klubben and Garden to Cafe Jazz, Radio Nova Stage and the new Apollo Stage. In addition Lokki-stage, located in the old park of Kirjurinluoto and Pelle Hermanni’s park were new venues for the Kids Festival.

This year’s theme for Pori Jazz Kids Festival was exotic rhythms and instruments. Kids Festival saw a record number of events which again proved that the festival is important for local kids and youths as well as in bringing other rhythm music enthusiasts from all over Finland and abroad to Pori. From over 90 events, 25 were concerts and the rest were music and instrument workshops and play schools. Kids Festival was part of EU’s culture capital Istabul’s “Istanbul – Pori Music Networking 2010” -project.

Vibraphonist Panu Savolainen (20) was chosen as artist of the year. Festival poster was designed by Kustaa Saksi.

Vuoden  festivaalijuliste


3 kuningasta ja Jokerit
40. Valtakunnallinen Popjazzleiri
Aapo Heinonen Quintet
Alliance feat. Osmo Ikonen
Alvi's Dixie Stompers
Antti Sarpila Swing Band
Antti Sarpila Swing Band feat. Johanna Iivanainen
Apollo presents:
Arosa Ensemble
Baby Trio
Bird with strings! Jukka Perko & Pori Sinfonietta plays Charlie Parker
Conjunto Café
Cyril Neville
De Sotos
DJ Anonymous & DJ 3rrrd Cowboy
DJ Antti Eerikäinen
DJ Didier
DJ Vesa Yli-Pelkonen
Emma Salokoski & Ilmiliekki Quartet
Eric Bibb
Eternal Erection
Final Jam session
Gil Scott-Heron
Goran Kajfes & Teppo Mäkynen & The Moon Ray Quintet
Gotan Project
Gustav Lundgren Quartet feat. Teemu Viinikainen
Herd & Guests
Herd feat. Timo Kämäräinen
Honey B. & T-bones
Ibrahim Electric
James Blood Ulmer solo
Jaska Lukkarinen Trio
Jean-Luc Cappozzo & Eric Brochard
Jeff Beck
Jenny Robson
Jo´ Buddy & Down Home King III
John Fogerty
José James and Jef Neve - For All We Know
Jouni Hokkanen Quintet
Juhani Aaltonen Quartet
Jyrki Kangas Ensemble
Jyrki Kangas Quartet
Kadi Quartet
Kadri Voorand feat. Jussi Kannaste
Kauko Röyhkä & Severi Pyysalo Trio
Lee Konitz Quartet feat. Ethan Iverson
Magnus Carlson & The Moon Ray Quintet
Manuel Hermia Quartet
Marc Ducret Quintet
Massive Attack
Mayer Hawthorne
Melody Gardot
Mikael Jakobsson Trio
Mikko Karjalainen Fellowship
Mikko Karjalainen Jam Session
Mikko Karjalainen Jam Session with Antti Kujanpää
Mikko Karjalainen Jam Session with Jenny Robson
Mikko Karjalainen Jam Session with Jukka Eskola
Mikko Karjalainen Jam Session with Timo Lassy
Myron & E with The Soul Investigators
Night Flight
Olli Ojajärvi trio
Palmgren-konservatorio presents:
Panu Savolainen Trio
Panu Savolainen Trio feat. Jussi Kannaste
Pepa Päivinen North Pipe
Per Jørgensen & Terje Isungset
PHAN-TOMS feat. Kymppilinja
Phil Harmonic
Pori Big Band
Pori Jazz Kids Festival
Poriginal Quartet
Povo feat. Andy Bey
Puolustusvoimien Varusmiessoittokunnan Jazz Combo
Puolustusvoimien Varusmiessoittokunnan Show Band
Radio Nova Presents: Johanna Kurkela
Radio Nova Presents: Tuure Kilpeläinen
Radio Nova Presents: Veeti Kallio Band
Red Baraat
Reiska Laine Jam Session
Reiska Laine Quartet
Ricky-Tick Big Band
Riitta Paakki Kolme
Rock & Roll Sensation
Rocksteady feat. Sami Hintsanen
Rocksteady feat. Sami Saari
Sami Saari & FB
Seun Kuti & Egypt 80
Severi Pyysalo Trio/The Mokners
Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
Sid Hille´s Jazz Tribute to The Beatles
Sun Trio
Ted Curson & Reiska Laine Quartet
Ted Curson All Stars
Ted Curson Ensemble
Ted Curson Jam Session
Ted Curson Quartet
The Bobby Hutcherson & Cedar Walton Quartet
The Capital Beat
The Claudia Quintet
The Roots
Timo Lassy Orchestra feat. José James
Tomasz Stanko Quintet
Tommi Taavila Group
Tonight at noon
Tori Amos
Tuomari Nurmio & Hunajaluut
Two Men Galaxy
Uptown feat. Susanna Mesiä
Veeti Kallio Band
Wayfaring Stranger
Yona & Orkesteri Liikkuvat Pilvet
Önder Focan Ensemble