Festival year 1991

During the 26th festival you were able to hear music by the banks of the River Kokemäenjoki from July 13th to 21st. There were 17 stages forming the environment for 73 groups to perform in over 100 concerts.

In June 1991 Jyrki Kangas evaluated the concept by saying:

“You have to be able to offer a memorable experience consisting of people with right kind of attitude, great music and something new like an exceptional concert venue so that the people can join the joyride and escape their daily worries. A festival producer always willing to innovatively develop the festival will be able to stand strong and face the future with confidence. This is what we at Pori Jazz believe in.”

Vuoden  festivaalijuliste


Antti Sarpila & Ulf Johansson Swing Connection
B.B. Dixie Band
Big Time Sarah
Bill Dixon Workshop
Billy Preston
Bobby Wellins Quartet
Brus Trio
Charles Brown
Charlie Haden Liberation Orchestra
Clifford Jordan Big Band
Coccia-Cappeletti Duo
Cranshaw-Shafranov Trio
Crazy Casey
D.C. Clowns
David Linx Quartet
David Murray Quartet
Don Grolnick Quintet feat. Randy Brecker & Joe Henderson
Dynamic Show Express
Eero Koivistoinen
Ellen Kristijansdottir and Point Blank
Enver Izmailov
Fischer-Jörgensen Quartet
Freddie Redd Connection Band
Freddie Redd Trio
Gloria Gaynor
Group Five
Heikki Sarmanto "Perfect Harmony" Choir & Orchestra
James Morrison Quartet
Jarmo Hoogendijk - Ben van den Dungen Quintet
John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers
Jon Faddis Quartet feat. Lewis Nash
Jukka Perko
Jukka Syrenius Band
King Salsa
Kip Hanrahan "...And Then She Turned, So That..."
Koko Taylor & Her Blues Machine
Kysia Bostic
Louis Sclavis Quartet
Maarit & Janus 7
Manhattan Transfer
Mick & Camel
Mika Mylläri
Mitchell J. R. Quintet
Neset Ruacan Quartet
Newport All Stars feat. Clark Terry & George Wein
Olli Ahvenlahti Trio
Open Art Band
Ornette Coleman & The Prime Time
Oscar Peterson with Herb Ellis, Ray Brown & Jeff Hamilton
Otis Rush
Philharmonic Blues Band
Poison Face
Pori Big Band
Poriginal Quartet
Ratonyi-Gadó Duo
Rio Herne
Rosenlew Brass Band
Sami Sippola - Mika Kojo Quintet
Severi Pyysalo
Sound & Fury
Sweet Honey In The Rock
Ted Curson
The Gospel Harmoneers
Tower Of Power
Trio Thierry Lang
Trio Töykeät
Ultra Music Meeting
Veslefrekk Trio
Vic Vogel Sextet
Yhdenyhtye J M-L